The Ins and Outs of the Premiership

Whilst the rugby focus continues to be in New Zealand, the Premiership clubs are now in training ahead of the 2017/8 season.

The fixtures won’t be announced until Friday 7th July although a double header at Twickenham on September 2nd is confirmed.

Both Saracens and London Irish will play at Twickenham with their opponents on that day being announced with the rest of the fixtures on the 7th.

A lot has been going on in the transfer market for the 12 clubs –


Arrivals: Sam Underhill (Ospreys), Freddie Burns (Leicester Tigers), Darren Allinson (London Irish), Shaun Knight (Newport Gwent Dragons), Josh Lewis (Ebbw Vale), Beno Obano (promoted from Academy)

Departures: Liam Forsyth (Wigan Warriors), George Ford (Leicester Tigers), Adam Hastings (Glasgow Warriors), David Denton (Worcester Warriors), Robbie Fruean (Edinburgh), Darryl Marfo (Edinburgh), Daniel Bowden (released), Dave Sisi (released)


Arrivals: Matt Kvesic (Gloucester), Tom O’Flaherty (Ospreys), Toby Salmon (Rotherham Titans), Sam Simmonds (promoted from Academy), Nic White (Montpellier), James Freeman (Jersey Reds)

Departures: Dave Lewis (Harlequins), Damian Welch (Cardiff Blues), Will Hooley (Bedford Blues), Hayden Thomas (retired), Geoff Parling (Melbourne Rebels), Tom Johnson (retired)


Arrivals: Fraser Balmain (Leicester Tigers), Val Rapava-Ruskin (Worcester Warriors), Owen Williams (Leicester Tigers), Ben Vellacott (promoted from Academy), Jake Polledri (Hartpury RFC), Gareth Denman (Northampton Saints), Jason Woodward (Bristol), Freddie Clarke (promoted from Academy), Lloyd Evans (promoted from Academy)

Departures:  Greig Laidlaw (Clermont Auvergne), James Hook (Ospreys), Matt Kvesic (Exeter Chiefs), Joe Batley (Bristol), Joe Latta (Bristol), Josh McNulty (Harlequins), Salesi Ma’afu (RC Narbonne), Matt Protheroe (Bristol), Dan Thomas (Bristol), Tom Lindsay (Bedford Blues), Sione Kalamafoni (Leicester Tigers), Yann Thomas (Rouen), Paul Doran-Jones (Wasps), Darren Dawidiuk (released)


Arrivals: Demetri Catrakilis (Montpellier), Renaldo Bothma (Bulls), Dave Lewis (Exeter Chiefs), Phil Swainston (Wasps), Lewis Boyce (Yorkshire Carnegie), Josh McNulty (Gloucester)

Departures: Tyler Gendall (Bristol), Matt Hopper (Oyonnax), Nick Evans (retired), Karl Dickson (retired), Matt Shields (Rotherham Titans), Netani Talei (retired), Dan Murphy (Hartpury RFC), Jonas Mikalcus (Hartpury RFC), Owen Evans (Doncaster Knights)


Arrivals: George Ford (Bath Rugby), Sione Kalamafoni (Gloucester Rugby), Joe Ford (Yorkshire Carnegie), Jonah Holmes (Yorkshire Carnegie), Dominic Ryan (Leinster)

Departures: Fraser Balmain (Gloucester), Owen Williams (Gloucester), Freddie Burns (Bath), Jack Roberts (Cardiff Blues), Marcos Ayerza (retired), Oliver Bryant (Jersey Reds), Peter Bethame (Clermont Auvergne)


Arrivals: Gordon Reid (Glasgow Warriors), Lasha Lomidze (Krasny Yar), Ben Meehan (Melbourne Rebels), Napolioni Nalaga (Lyon), Saia Fainga’a (Brumbies), Luke McLean (Benetton Treviso), Petrus du Plessis (Saracens), Manasa Saulo (Toulon), Filo Paulo (Benetton Treviso), Jake Schatz (Melbourne Rebels)

Departures: Darren Allinson (Bath), Jason Harris-Wright (Bristol), Luke Narraway (Coventry), Ross Neal (London Scottish)


Arrivals: Maxime Mermoz (Toulon), Josh Matavesi (Ospreys), Joel Matavesi (Redruth), D.T.H. van der Merwe (Scarlets), Ryan Burrows (Yorkshire Carnegie), Sami Mavinga (Lyon), Gary Graham (Jersey Reds), Sam Stuart (Richmond), Tevita Cavubati (Worcester Warriors), Toby Flood (Toulouse), Cameron Cowell (England Sevens)

Departures: Marcus Watson (Wasps), Ben Harris (Wasps), Sam Egerton (retired), Adam Powell (retired), David Nelson (Doncaster Knights), Andrew Foster (Rotherham Titans), Daniel Temm (Ealing Trailfinders), Tom Catterick (retired)


Arrivals: David Ribbans (Stormers), Mitch Eadie (Bristol), Jamal Ford-Robinson (Bristol), Rob Horne (Waratahs), Cobus Reinach (Sharks), Piers Francis (Blues), Francois van Wyk (Western Force)

Departures: Calum Clark (Saracens), Ethan Waller (Worcester Warriors), JJ Hanrahan (Munster), Lee Dickson (Bedford Blues), Howard Packman (Bedford Blues), Sion Bennett (Cardiff Blues), Gareth Denman (Gloucester), Sam Olver (Worcester Warriors), Louis Picamoles (Montpellier), Sam Dickinson (released), Adam Parkins (released), George Pisi (released), Jake Ilnicki (released), James Wilson (released)


Arrivals: Josh Strauss (Glasgow Warriors), Will Cliff (Bristol), Marc Jones (Bristol), Alexandru Tarus (Beziers), Jono Ross (Stade Français), WillGriff John (Doncaster Knights), Faf de Klerk (Lions), James O’Connor (Toulon)

Departures:  Mike Phillips (retired), Sam Tuitupou (Coventry), Sam Bedlow (Bristol Rugby), Matt Rogerson (Jersey Reds), Brian Mujati (Ospreys), Neil Briggs (retired), James Mitchell (Connacht), Andrew Hughes (released), Charlie Ingall (released), Tim Jeffers (released), Magnus Lund (released), Jonathan Mills (released), Tom Morton (released), Dan Mugford (released), Peter Stringer (released)


Arrivals: Christopher Tolofua (Toulouse), Liam Williams (Scarlets), Calum Clark (Northampton Saints), Tom Griffiths (promoted from Academy), Hayden Thompson-Stringer (promoted from Academy), Tom Whiteley (promoted from Academy), Will Skelton (Waratahs), Dominic Day (Melbourne Rebels)

Departures:  Chris Ashton (Toulon), George Perkins (Bristol), Kelly Brown (retired), Jared Saunders (Jersey Reds), Neil de Kock (retired), Jim Hamilton (retired), Brian Tuilagi (US Dax), Samuela Vunisa (Glasgow Warriors), Petrus du Plessis (London Irish), Fa’atiga Lemalu (released), Tim Streather (released)


Arrivals: Marcus Watson (Newcastle Falcons), Ben Harris (Newcastle Falcons), Antonio Harris (Nottingham), Gabiriele Lovobalavu (Bayonne), Juan de Jongh (Stormers), Paul Doran-Jones (Gloucester), David Langley (Cambridge)

Departures: Nick De Luca (retired), Alapati Leiua (Bristol), Phil Swainston (Harlequins), Tom Howe (Worcester Warriors), Kurtley Beale (Waratahs), Frank Halai (Pau), George Edgson (Bedford Blues), Ehize Ehizode (Bristol), Carlo Festuccia (retired), Piers O’Connor (Ealing Trailfinders), Tom Bristow (released)


Arrivals: Ethan Waller (Northampton Saints), Simon Kerrod (Jersey Reds), Pierce Phillips (Jersey Reds), Tom Howe (Wasps), Joe Taufete’e (unattached), Michael Dowsett (Southland Stags), Huw Taylor (promoted from Academy), Sam Olver (Northampton Saints), David Denton (Bath Rugby)

Departures: Val Rapava-Ruskin (Gloucester), Phil Dowson (retired), Tiff Eden (Nottingham), Sam Betty (retired), Andy Short (retired), Chris Vui (Bristol), Tevita Cavubati (Newcastle Falcons), Derrick Appiah (London Scottish), Charles Hewitt (Houston Strikers), Auguy Slowik (Northern Suburbs), Na’ama Leleimalefaga (CA Brive), James Johnston (CA Brive), Ryan Lamb (La Rochelle), Mike Daniels (Hartpury RFC), Tom Biggs (released), Connor Braid (released), Jaba Bregvadze (released), George de Cothi (released), Ryan Grant (released), Ben Fowles (released), Kallus Hutchinson (released), Sam Ripper-Smith (released), Cooper Vuna (released)

There could be more big name transfers before September too!

Before the season starts, there are the last two Lions tests (Sky), the Women’s World Cup (9th – 26th August) in Ireland on ITV and Super Rugby on Sky (final on 5th August).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s