Haka Off

I have to admit I am a fan of the All Blacks doing the Haka – I’ve seen it performed live more than 10 times and it still makes my spine tingle.

However I am not sure that it will carry the same impact on the current tour as the Lions will now face a Haka in each of the next nine games –

http://www.rugby365.com/countries/new-zealand/79495

All 5 Super Rugby teams, the Maori’s and the three AB tests will all feature one before each game.

I don’t believe that familiarity will breed contempt exactly, but it will inevitably in my view, diminish the uniqueness that has been a strong characteristic of the All Blacks for so long.

When the Lions turn up for the tests the challenge before kick-off will have lost some of its mystique – they will have seen and faced it all before.

Quite a few of the Lions have never played the All Blacks – I think the NZ Haka should be a challenge reserved for internationals and the Maori’s.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VTwbKryrhks

 

Leave a Reply

