Sounds Familiar

“It was 50 years ago today…” – if you’re anywhere near my advancing years you will now be singing “Sgt Pepper taught the band to play” and castigating me with “actually it was 20 years you nobhead!”

SGT-PEPPER--element90

It was released just before my 19th birthday and I can remember listening to it with good mates, Denis, Steve and Rib at Den’s Mum’s place in Abbey Wood.

Everyone was amazed – the only album that came close for us was Pet Sounds which had been out for about a year then.

There have been shedloads of ‘The 100 Greatest Albums’ lists and I very much doubt that Sgt Pepper tops them all – but it must be right up there.

As Brian Clough once famously said

“ I wouldn’t say I was the best manager in the business. But I was in the top one”

That will really wind Airdy up – he’s a big Leeds fan!

I’m not sure if Lell or Rich have ever listened to the album – but I do remember that they would mime sticking their fingers down their throats when they were trapped in the car and forced to listen to my stuff – so I doubt it.

Sgt Pepper is in my top 5 all-time albums – and I still have most of them on the vinyl from when I first bought them.

I think tracks like ‘A Day in the Life’ and the contrasting ‘She’s leaving home’ changed recording forever.

I suspect there aren’t too many albums that will still be revered 50 years lafter their release date.

Leave a Reply

