The Brute Squad

In the previous post I outlined my take on the leaks yesterday about the players missing out on the Lions squad.

If I’m right then this is the XV (injuries allowing) that I think Warren may well pick for the first test on June 24th in Auckland – at least it is the one I’d go with to outmuscle and stifle the All Blacks –

 

Rob Kearney (Leigh Halfpenny if Kearney is still crocked)

George North

Robbie Henshaw

Owen Farrell

Anthony Watson

Johnny Sexton

Connor Murray

 

Mako Vunipola

Ken Owens

Tadhg Furlong

Alun Wyn Jones

Maro Itoje

Sean O’Brien

Billy Vunipola

Sam Warburton

Amongst those as ‘finishers’ I’d have CJ Stander, Joe Marler, Dylan Hartley and Taulupe Faletau – if that lot doesn’t worry the ABs coming off the bench, then frankly nothing will.

It won’t be the most balanced combination, but as Lord Wellington once said

“I don’t know about the enemy but they scare the hell out of me”.

I accept this is slightly ironic as I think he said it in reference to a Scottish Regiment

Leave a Reply

