PC Gatland

Thank god the Lions squad will finally be announced next week and put us out of our misery.

It means that we can discuss who will actually be on the plane and that we’ve only got one more weekend of everyone and his bleeding dog picking their Lions XV for the first test without knowing who exactly is going to be in NZ at that time.

And to absolutely honest I’d rather listen to Rover than all the ‘experts’ who are giving Warren much unasked for advice.

I expect he would litter (ha ha) his squad with the likes of the following (Rover not Warren, obviously) –

Irish Wolfhound, Welsh Terrier, Gordon Setter, English Mastiff and British (and Irish) Bulldog.

Obviously there would also be room for the odd Rottweiler and Doberman assuming they had served their residency period.

I don’t think any mutt from the New Zealand Kennel Club would fancy their chances against that lot!

Just for fun (mine not yours I expect) I thought I’d pick my own Lions XV for the first test and pretend that Warren has to be ultra PC in his selection.

In this fantasy XV he can only pick 4 players from Wales, Ireland and England plus 3 from Scotland.

My apologies to the Jocks but not even the most biased fans from the borders can seriously expect more than (or even) 3 to start against the All Blacks. Double apologies if I turn out to be wrong about that (I won’t be, by the way).

So my choice for PC Gatland is as follows –

Stuart Hogg

 

George North

Robbie Henshaw

Owen Farrell

Liam Williams

 

Johnny Sexton

Connor Murray

Tadhg Furlong

Ken Owens

Mako Vunipola

Maro Itoje

Johnny Gray

Hamish Watson

Billy Vunipola

Sam Warburton (c)

 

Despite having one hand tied behind my back, I still think this is a pretty decent XV – even if I had to Google a few names to get the spelling right (not Ken Owens, Stuart Hogg or George North though)

 

 

Leave a Reply

