The North Face-Off

Of my 8 forecasts for yesterday’s international matches that I posted on Friday I managed to get 6 of them right. Having said that it was only in terms of results – my points difference predictions were complete rubbish in the main.

The two I got wrong were the wins for Japan and Wales.

In terms of the northern hemisphere v the southern lot we came out ahead – Wales, England and France notching up wins with Scotland going down to the Wallabies by just the one point.

I don’t really count the Italy v All Blacks massacre which was a bit like Rorke’s Drift in reverse.

In the other matches Ireland and the Barbarians duly dispatched Canada and Fiji, respectively.

After the game at Twickenham, Eddie Jones indicated that he was not as pleased as we might have expected with the England win over the Springboks –

http://www.skysports.com/rugby-union/news/12504/10655457/eddie-jones-says-england-have-to-get-sharper-after-south-africa-win

 

I understand what he means and I’m all for his vision, But I have to say that I liked the England ambition in the game and I was right chuffed overall, even if Eddie wasn’t.

The Springboks managed two tries to England’s four, the Boks second one coming at the death when the game was already won.

The first try from South Africa came courtesy of a forward pass that Joe Montana would have been proud of!

Last week Stevie Wonder commented on those intending to vote for Trump

He might easily have substituted the car bit for ‘being yesterday’s TMO at Twickenham’!

The big game next week is the re-match between Ireland and the All Blacks in Dublin, whilst England entertain Fiji. The full list is –

  • Italy v South Africaat Stadio Artemio Franchi, Florence 2:00pm
  • England v Fijiat Twickenham Stadium, London 2:30pm
  • Wales v Japanat Principality Stadium, Cardiff 2:30pm
  • Scotland v Argentinaat BT Murrayfield Stadium, Edinburgh 5:00pm
  • Ireland v New Zealandat Aviva Stadium, Dublin 5:30pm
  • France v Australiaat Stade de France, Paris 8:00pm

I expect Eddie Jones to make some changes for Saturday in preparation for the Pumas and the Wallabies.

If he’s interested in my choices – I’m happy to help in his search for the perfect performance and he’ll be able to read them here later in the week. Only joking of course, I expect he’ll call me for some tips on Monday.

 

Leave a Reply

