Selection Boks

Yesterday afternoon I drafted out this post to predict the team that I thought Eddie Jones would select to play the Springboks on Saturday.

I was expecting the team to be announced on Thursday and wanted to get in before it was actually published.

This was rather buggered up when the squad of 34 was cut to 25 late yesterday making a nonsense of some of my picks (very like my confidence in the American people not to fuck things up!)

So now I have two teams – the one I scribbled down yesterday plus the one that is more likely now we know most of the actual 23 who will pitch (ha ha) up at Twickenham.

 

This is them –

Mine                                 More likely

Alex Goode                      Mike Brown

Semesa Rokoduguni       Jonny May

Jonathan Joseph             Jonathan Joseph

Owen Farrell                    Owen Farrell

Marlon Yarde                   Marlon Yarde

George Ford                    George Ford

Danny Care                     Ben Youngs

Mako                               Mako

Dylan                               Dylan

Dan                                  Dan

Joe                                   Joe

Dave                              Courtney

Courtney                    Chris

Billy                            Billy

Tom                           Tom

 

Because of the threat of the Springboks lineout I have gone for big bastards in the back row – with Nathan to add serious impact from the bench – anywhere in the back row. I’d love to see him alongside Billy!

Moving Courtney into 6 also gives the opportunity for the aggressive Dave Attwood to be on the park.

The Tom Wood to 7 move was signposted when Eddie reduced the squad yesterday

In the backs, two of my picks have been cut so I am bound to be way out there.

I would also have Danny Care starting – he moves the ball away quicker and if we are to move their big pack around the park then we need to be sharp from the breakdown.

Eddie is on a 9 game winning streak and I can’t even pick a winner from a two horses arse race right now – who would you go with?

Obviously my view is both academic following the squad reduction and also probably complete rubbish.

However I am feeling really smug about the title for this post!

 

Leave a Reply

